Political update

Appendix 8

To supplement the information in Chapter 3, Government, the following lists give the names of members of the Privy Council, the Senate and cabinet ministers of Canada and the executive councils of the provinces and territories. Except for the cabinet section, which gives three ministries, the lists have all been updated to May 1980. Data on members of the House of Commons voted into office in federal general elections are given in Tables 3.4 and 3.5 in Chapter 3.

The Queen's Privy Council for Canada

The Hon. William Earl Rowe, August 30, 1935

The following, with the dates when they were sworn in, were members of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada in May 1980:

The Hon. Lionel Chevrier, April 18, 1945 The Hon. Paul Joseph James Martin, April 18, 1945 The Hon. Douglas Charles Abbott, April 18, 1945 The Hon. Hugues Lapointe, August 25, 1949 The Hon. Gabriel-Edouard Rinfret, August 25, 1949 The Hon. Walter Edward Harris, January 18, 1950 The Hon. James Sinclair, October 15, 1952 The Hon. John Whitney Pickersgill, June 12, 1953 The Hon. Jean Lesage, September 17, 1953 The Hon. George Carlyle Marler, July 1, 1954 The Hon. Paul Theodore Hellyer, April 26, 1957 The Hon. Howard Charles Green, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming, June 21, 1957 The Hon. George Hees, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Léon Balcer, June 21, 1957 The Hon, George Randolph Pearkes, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Gordon Churchill, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Douglas Scott Harkness, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough, June 21, 1957 The Hon. John Angus MacLean, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Michael Starr, June 21, 1957 The Hon. William McLean Hamilton, June 21, The Hon. William Joseph Browne, June 21, 1957 The Hon. Jay Waldo Monteith, August 22, 1957 The Hon. Francis Alvin George Hamilton, August 22, 1957 HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, October 14, 1957 The Hon. Henri Courtemanche, May 12, 1958 The Hon. David James Walker, August 20, 1959 The Hon. Joseph-Pierre-Albert Sévigny, August 20, 1959 The Hon. Hugh John Flemming, October 11, 1960 The Hon. Noël Dorion, October 11, 1960 The Hon. Walter Dinsdale, October 11, 1960 The Hon. Jacques Flynn, December 28, 1961 The Hon. Paul Martineau, August 9, 1962 The Hon. Richard Albert Bell, August 9, 1962 The Rt. Hon. Roland Michener, October 15, 1962 The Hon. Marcel-Joseph-Aimé Lambert, February 12, 1963

The Hon. Théogène Ricard, March 18, 1963

The Hon. Frank Charles McGee, March 18, 1963

The Hon. Martial Asselin, March 18, 1963 The Hon. Walter Lockhart Gordon, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Mitchell William Sharp, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Azellus Denis, April 22, 1963 The Hon. George James McIlraith, April 22, 1963 The Hon. William Moore Benidickson, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Maurice Lamontagne, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Lucien Cardin, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Jean-Paul Deschatelets, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Hédard Robichaud, April 22, 1963 The Hon. John Watson MacNaught, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Roger Teillet, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Judy V. LaMarsh, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Charles Mills Drury, April 22, 1963 The Hon. John Robert Nicholson, April 22, 1963 The Hon. Harry William Hays, April 22, 1963 The Hon. John Joseph Connolly, February 3, 1964 The Hon. Maurice Sauvé, February 3, 1964 The Hon. Yvon Dupuis, February 3, 1964 The Hon. George Stanley White, June 25, 1964 The Hon. Edgar John Benson, June 29, 1964 The Hon. Léo Alphonse Joseph Cadieux, February 15, 1965 The Hon. Lawrence T. Pennell, July 7, 1965 The Hon. Jean-Luc Pepin, July 7, 1965 The Hon. Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton, October The Hon. Jean Marchand, December 18, 1965 The Hon. Joseph Julien Jean-Pierre Côté, December 18, 1965 The Hon. John Napier Turner, December 18, 1965 The Hon. Maurice Bourget, February 22, 1966 The Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, April 4, 1967 The Hon. Jean Chrétien, April 4, 1967 The Hon. Pauline Vanier, April 11, 1967 The Hon. John Parmenter Robarts, July 5, 1967 The Hon. Louis-J. Robichaud, July 5, 1967. The Hon. Dufferin Roblin, July 5, 1967 The Hon. Alexander B. Campbell, July 5, 1967 The Hon. Ernest Charles Manning, July 5, 1967 The Hon. Joseph Robert Smallwood, July 5, 1967 The Hon. Robert L. Stanfield, July 7, 1967 The Rt. Hon. John Robert Cartwright, September 4, 1967